Pinhole – Holga 120 WPC Plus Adox CMS 20 in FX-39

001b_WPC120_002

It was a long time I wanted to start shooting with a pinhole camera. To begin with, I got an Holga 120 WPC which was waiting patiently to be used. And so, yesterday morning, taking advantage of a beautiful day in late January, I was immersed in an immensely  fascinating and immortal landscape: the Roman Forum and the Palatine hill.

Actually, I started from the latter, but since it was the first roller ever, I proceeded immediately to make an involuntary double exposure, lose a few frames for not having removed the lens cap and so on … which, having only 6 shots per roll available … is not ideal. After loading the second roll, I focused “fiercely” on my job and so, I managed to take home all 6 shots available.

001b_WPC120_004

001b_WPC120_003

Of course (You should know me), I have been not happy to experience for the first time my pinhole … but since I still had available a roll of  Adox CMS 20, didn’t seem real to combine the two experiments. Last, but not least …. not having available other developers, I decided to develop it with the Adox Fx39 … despite having not found on the web any feedback about this pairing. In the past, as many will know, I have experienced this film with the Ars Imago-Fd, with mixed results.

001b_WPC120_005

Well mine, as you know, aren’t scientific tests, but very practical ones and I must say that the results have been beyond my expectations (and certainly not worse than the previous ones), especially taking into account the aleatory exposure settings when the aperture is f/135 …! Sure, there are some instructions placed on a label on the back of the camera, but they are just a beginning from which to experiment. Regarding exposure, it helped me a table found on the net, which guided me a bit more accurate in evaluating shooting times. The Adox Fx39, at a dilution of 1 + 19 for 5′  did the rest. The film, as always, is intractable (physically) because of curling and I had my hard times when scanning (a curled  6×12 cm negative is not the best to fit into the negative carrier of my Epson) but highlights seemed well controlled (hard to do when using the CMS20) while maintaining good gray scale and not so closed shadows …

001b_WPC120_006

001b_WPC120_001

Regarding the pinhole, I must say that this genre is quite charming and I plan to try it and the Holga better soon, despite being a much economical, fully did his duty. I did not understand, however, how and when vignetting appears, since sometimes it does so only at the top right, sometimes on both sides, and sometimes not at all. Anyway, in some of the shots proposed, I made a slight crop that has ruled it out.

(Versione Italiana)

Era da molto tempo che volevo iniziare a scattare con una fotocamera pinhole. Tanto per iniziare, mi ero procurato un’Holga 120 WPC che attendeva pazientemente di essere usata. E così, ieri mattina, approfittando di una splendida giornata di fine gennaio, mi sono immerso in un paesaggio dal fascino immenso ed immortale: il Foro Romano ed il Palatino. A dire la verità, ho iniziato da quest’ultimo, ma dato che era il primo rullo in assoluto, ho provveduto immediatamente ad effettuare un’involontaria doppia esposizione, perdere un paio di fotogrammi per non aver tolto il tappo dell’obiettivo e così via… il che, avendo solo 6 scatti a disposizione per rullo… non è certo l’ideale. Una volta caricato il secondo rullo, mi sono concentrato “ferocemente” e così, sono riuscito a portare a casa tutti e 6 gli scatti disponibili. Naturalmente (ormai mi conoscete), non mi sono accontentato di sperimentare per la prima volta la mia  pinhole… ma dato che avevo ancora disponibile un rullo di Adox CMS 20, non mi è parso vero di unire le due cose. Ultimo, ma non ultimo…. non avendo disponibili altri rivelatori, ho visto bene di svilupparlo con l’Adox Fx39… pur senza aver trovato nel web alcun riscontro riguardo questa accoppiata. In passato, come molti sapranno, ho sperimentato questa pellicola con l’Ars-Imago Fd, con risultati altalenanti. Beh, i miei come sapete, non sono certo dei test scientifici, ma molto pratici e devo dire che i risultati sono stati superiori alle mie attese (e di certo non peggiori dei precedenti), specialmente tenendo conto dell’aleatorietà dell’esposizione con una pinhole il cui diaframma è f/135…! Certo, ci sono alcune indicazioni poste su una targhetta sul retro della fotocamera, ma sono solo un inizio da cui partire per sperimentare. Riguardo all’esposizione, mi ha aiutato una tabella ritrovata in rete, che mi è servita da guida un po’ più accurata rispetto a quella della Holga. L’Adox Fx39, alla diluizione di 1+19 per 5′ ha fatto poi il resto. La pellicola, come sempre, è intrattabile (fisicamente) a causa del curling ed ho avuto il mio bel da fare per scansionarla (un negativo arricciato da 6×12 cm non è per niente semplice da far entrare nel portanegativi del mio epson) ma le alte luci non sono fuggite per la tangente (tipico difetto della CMS20) pur mantenendo una buona scala dei grigi e delle ombre nemmeno poi tanto chiuse…

Riguardo alla pinhole, devo dire che questo genere è decisamente affascinante e mi riprometto di sperimentarlo meglio prossimamente e la Holga, pur essendo un mezzo molto economico, ha fatto pienamente il suo dovere. Non ho capito però come e quando vignetta, dato che a volte lo fa solo in alto a destra, a volte in entrambi i lati ed a volte per niente. In alcuni degli scatti proposti, ho comunque effettuato un lieve crop che l’ha esclusa.

Tech Data:

Camera: Holga 120 WPC – Film: Adox CMS 20 – Developer: Adox Fx39 – Scanner: Epson V550

 

2 thoughts on “Pinhole – Holga 120 WPC Plus Adox CMS 20 in FX-39

  1. Well, as you, i have one since two years now, and not used yet. Maybe i’m too impressed by the process. So after read your article, i’m thinking: go out and shoot damned Jean-Marc !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

